Dämonkratie

Pforzheim (Germany) | 11. October - 24. November 2019

For over 2500 years, forms of democracy have developed in Europe and in other parts of the world. In each country the historical, social and cultural characteristics are just as different as the respective conditions, conditions and democratic contents. What they have in common is that democracy is based on constant negotiation about the balance between individual and community, freedom and order, equality and leadership. In the current discourse, however, the feeling is spreading that powers are shifting and that the constitutional form of democracy seems to be increasingly endangered and unstable by the structural change of modern societies, complex global problems, digitalisation, populism, fake news and the questioning of knowledge and universal values.

In the exhibition “Demoncracy”, international artists embark on a search for the demons of democracy: is it the political representatives, economic corporations, or simply the people themselves? The works on display represent the struggle for the basic pillars, laws and stability of democratic constitutions and question our current understanding of democracy.

The exhibition takes place in cooperation with the Werner Wild Foundation, the Ornamenta Association, agora42, the EMMA - Kreativzentrum Pforzheim and the Hochschule Pforzheim.

Artistic direction: Janusz Czech

Artists: Mathieu Asselin, Tanja Boukal, Jonas Burgert, Janusz Czech, Wiktor Dyndo, Beate Engl, Philip Götze, Heather Dewey-Hagborg/Chelsea E. Manning, Thomas Höpker, Jakub Janovský, Franka Kaßner, Jon Kessler, Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle, Milo Rau, Oliver Ressler, Lisa Schlenker, Klaus Staeck, Wolfgang Tillmans, The Yes Men, Peter Weibel, Peter Weibel & Hotel Morphila Orchestra, Umut Yasat

Download
Exhibitionfolder

 

Venue:

A.K.T
Theaterstrasse 21
75175 Pforzheim
Germany

Dämonkratie

Pforzheim (Deutschland) | 11. Oktober - 24. November 2019

Seit über 2500 Jahren haben sich in Europa und in anderen Teilen der Welt Formen der Demokratie entwickelt. In jedem Land sind dabei die historischen, sozialen und kulturellen Ausprägungen genauso unterschiedlich wie die jeweiligen Voraussetzungen, Bedingungen und demokratischen Gehalte. Gemeinsam ist ihnen, dass die Demokratie auf einer ständigen Aushandlung um das Gleichgewicht zwischen Individuum und Gemeinschaft, Freiheit und Ordnung, Gleichheit und Führung basiert. Im aktuellen Diskurs macht sich jedoch das Gefühl breit, dass sich Mächte verschieben und die Verfassungsform der Demokratie durch den Strukturwandel moderner Gesellschaften, komplexe globale Problemstellungen, Digitalisierung, Populismus, Fake News sowie die Infragestellung von Wissen und universellen Werten zunehmend bedroht und instabil zu sein scheint.

In der Ausstellung „Dämonkratie“ begeben sich internationale Künstlerinnen und Künstler auf die Suche nach den Dämonen der Demokratie: Sind es die politischen Vertreter, Wirtschaftskonzerne oder einfach das Volk selbst? Die gezeigten Werke stellen den Kampf um die Grundsäulen, Gesetze und die Beständigkeit der demokratischen Verfassungen dar und hinterfragen unser heutiges Verständnis von Demokratie.

Die Ausstellung findet in Kooperation mit der Werner Wild Stiftung, dem Ornamenta Verein, agora42, dem EMMA – Kreativzentrum Pforzheim und der Hochschule Pforzheim statt.

Künstlerische Leitung: Janusz Czech

Künstler/-innen: Mathieu Asselin, Tanja Boukal, Jonas Burgert, Janusz Czech, Wiktor Dyndo, Beate Engl, Philip Götze, Heather Dewey-Hagborg/Chelsea E. Manning, Thomas Höpker, Jakub Janovský, Franka Kaßner, Jon Kessler, Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle, Milo Rau, Oliver Ressler, Lisa Schlenker, Klaus Staeck, Wolfgang Tillmans, The Yes Men, Peter Weibel, Peter Weibel & Hotel Morphila Orchester,  Umut Yasat

Download
​Ausstellungsfolder

Veranstaltungsort:

A.K.T
Theaterstrasse 21
75175 Pforzheim
Deutschland

Präsentierte Werke:
Schutzwall That's What They Said