Demonstrating Minds

Helsinki (Finland) | 9. October 2015 - 20. March 2016

Disagreements in Contemporary Art

Art can take a stand. It can be a form of resistance and an expression of outrage. It can give a voice to the have-nots and the invisible. This exhibition looks at art and society through the work of 19 contemporary artists and artist groups from around the world. These artists highlight and probe the disputes and friction points that come with living as part of society.

The featured works address universal issues related to labour, economics and the distribution of power. They also touch upon topical themes such as the war in Ukraine, riots and protests, refugeeism and migration. Some works revisit old manifestos and ideologies; others reinterpret meaning-laden images. Another key topic of contention is the role of art and the artist in society.

The exhibition draws ideas from the French philosopher Jacques Rancière and his theory of politics and democracy as dissensus, or debate between equals.

Curators: Marja Sakari, Kati Kivinen, Patrik Nyberg, Jari-Pekka Vanhala
Artists: Kader Attia,  Sylvie Blocher,  Tanja Boukal,  Vadim Fishkin,  Rainer Ganahl,  Suohpanterror Group,  Lise Harlev,  Clara Ianni,  Amal Kenawy,  Cristina Lucas,  Goshka Macuga,  Cinthia Marcelle,  Jonathan Meese,  Tom Molloy,  Tanja Muravskaja,  R.E.P. Group,  Mika Rottenberg,  Jari Silomäki,  Mladen Stilinovic,  Tiago Mata Machado  

Tanja Boukals “The Melilla Project” was presented here for the first time.

Video:
Tanja Boukal about her Installation
(english with finnish subtitles)

Further reading:
The catalogue text for the project (english)

 

 

 

Venue:

Museum of Contemporary Art - KIASMA
Mannerheiminaukio 2
00100 Helsinki
Finland

Tanja Boukal | Demonstrating Minds

Demonstrating Minds

Helsinki (Finnland) | 9. Oktober 2015 - 20. März 2016

Widerspruch in der zeitgenössischen Kunst

Kunst kann Stellung beziehen. Sie kann eine Form von Widerstand und Ausdruck von Empörung sein. Sie kann den Habenichtsen und dem Unsichtbaren eine Stimme geben. Diese Ausstellung befasst sich mit den Arbeiten von 19 zeitgenössischen KünstlerInnen und Künstlergruppen aus der ganzen Welt. Diese beleuchten und zeigen die Auseinandersetzungen und Reibungspunkte, die mit dem Leben als Teil der Gesellschaft einhergehen.
Die vorgestellten Arbeiten befassen sich mit universellen Fragen zu Arbeit, Wirtschaft und Machtverteilung. Sie thematisieren auch aktuelle Themen wie die Ukraine, Aufstände und Proteste, Flucht und Migration. Manche Arbeiten greifen alte Manifeste und Ideologien auf, andere interpretieren bedeutungsgeladene Bilder neu. Ein weiteres zentrales Thema ist die Rolle von Kunst und Künstler in der Gesellschaft.

Die Ausstellung bezieht sich auf die Ideen des französischen Philosophen Jacques Rancière und seine Theorie von Politik und Demokratie als Dissens oder Debatte zwischen Gleichen.

KuratorInnen: Marja Sakari, Kati Kivinen, Patrik Nyberg, Jari-Pekka Vanhala
KünstlerInnen: Kader Attia,  Sylvie Blocher,  Tanja Boukal,  Vadim Fishkin,  Rainer Ganahl,  Suohpanterror Group,  Lise Harlev,  Clara Ianni,  Amal Kenawy,  Cristina Lucas,  Goshka Macuga,  Cinthia Marcelle,  Jonathan Meese,  Tom Molloy,  Tanja Muravskaja,  R.E.P. Group,  Mika Rottenberg,  Jari Silomäki,  Mladen Stilinovic,  Tiago Mata Machado  

Tanja Boukals „The Melilla Project“ wurde hier erstmals präsentiert.

Video:
Tanja Boukal über ihre Installation
(englisch mit finnischen Untertiteln)

Zusätzliche Informationen:
Der Katalogtext zum Projekt (englisch)

Veranstaltungsort:

Museum of Contemporary Art - KIASMA
Mannerheiminaukio 2
00100 Helsinki
Finnland