Demirden Halkalar Gökyüzünde Eridi | Leaden Circles Dissolved In The Air

Istanbul (Turkey) | 1. March - 28. April 2018

The exhibition Leaden Circles Dissolved In The Air is based on diversity of artistic expression. The title of the exhibit refers to the frequently repeated sentence in Virginia Woolf’s most striking novel Mrs. Dalloway, and points out the intersection of different perspectives. Woolf uses “Leaden Circles Dissolved In The Air” as a metaphor to connect the novel’s characters and their points of view. This sentence, becomes the main motif of the novel, and similarly functions as a mutual slogan for each artist in the exhibition. Thus, this transition phrase of the novel puts an emphasis on the diversity of artistic media, which range from painting to object-based installations; and contextualizes the current political and cultural transformations in an inter-geographical manner.

The artists challenge the direct relationship between designated objects and signs, and they reverse the authority of symbols by considering the signs as determinative. Contemporary narrative, traditional narrative / symbolic imagery in art today brings out infinite interpretations by distracting the viewer with explicit and implicit meanings. In this context, image is often deconstructed in art, the observations and ideas (even life and death) of the viewer are intertwined just as in Woolf’s novel.

The exhibition invites the viewer to appropriate a variety of approaches in symbolic narrative of contemporary art. The artists intentionally obscure the point between the exhibitor and the exhibited, as they attempt to catch the viewer by surprise whilst re-contextualizing common images unexpectedly.

Curator: Ferhat Özgür
Artists: Kezban Arca Batıbeki, Tanja Boukal, Sefa Çakır, Fatma Çakmak, Ahmet Elhan, Seda Oturmak, Chulayarnnon Siriphol, Güneş Terkol, Ezgi Tok

Download:
Pressrelease (english)

Venue:

Elgiz Contemporary Art Museum
Meydan Sokak Beybi Giz Plaza B Blok, 34398 Sarıyer
Istanbul
Turkey

Demirden Halkalar Gökyüzünde Eridi | Leaden Circles Dissolved In The Air

Istanbul (Türkei) | 1. März - 28. April 2018

Die Ausstellung Bleierne Ringe zergingen in der Luft basiert auf der Vielfalt des künstlerischen Ausdrucks. Der Titel der Ausstellung bezieht sich auf den oft wiederholten Satz in Virginia Woolfs markantesten Roman Mrs. Dalloway und weist auf die Überschneidung unterschiedlicher Perspektiven hin. Woolf verwendet „Leaden Circles Dissolved In The Air“ als eine Metapher, um die Charaktere des Romans und ihre Sichtweisen zu verbinden. Dieser Satz wird zum Hauptmotiv des Romans und fungiert in ähnlicher Weise als ein gemeinsamer Slogan für die Künstler_innen der Ausstellung. Er betont die Vielfalt der künstlerischen Medien, die von Malerei bis hin zu objektbasierten Installationen reichen, und kontextualisiert die aktuellen politischen und kulturellen Transformationen in intergeographischer Weise.

Die Künstler_innen hinterfragen die direkte Beziehung zwischen bestimmten Objekten und Zeichen und kehren die Autorität der Symbole um, indem sie die Zeichen als bestimmend betrachten. Zeitgenössische Erzählung, traditionelle Narrative / symbolische Bilder in der Kunst bringen heute unendliche Interpretationen hervor, indem sie die Betrachtenden durch explizite und implizite Bedeutungen ablenken. In diesem Kontext wird das Bild in der Kunst oft dekonstruiert, die Beobachtungen und Ideen (sogar Leben und Tod) der Betrachtenden sind miteinander ebenso verflochten wie in Woolfs Roman.

Die Ausstellung lädt die Betrachter_innen ein, unterschiedliche Ansätze der symbolischen Erzählung in der zeitgenössischer Kunst zu adaptieren. Die Künstler_innen verschleiern absichtlich den Punkt zwischen Ausstellenden und Ausgestelltem. Sie versuchen, die Rezipient_innen  zu überraschen, indem sie gewöhnliche Bilder unerwartet rekontextualisieren

Kurator: Ferhat Özgür
Künstler: Kezban Arca Batıbeki, Tanja Boukal, Sefa Çakır, Fatma Çakmak, Ahmet Elhan, Seda Oturmak, Chulayarnnon Siriphol, Güneş Terkol, Ezgi Tok

Download:
Presseaussendung (englisch)

Veranstaltungsort:

Elgiz Contemporary Art Museum
Meydan Sokak Beybi Giz Plaza B Blok, 34398 Sarıyer
Istanbul
Türkei