Humans

Bolzano (Italy) / Klagenfurt (Austria) | 11. May - 17. August 2013

The artistic examination of human is almost as old as humanity itself. Until today, the image of mankind and the figure has lost none of its fascination. Therefore, dealing with this topic is essential for many contemporary artists, regardless of whether it is about their own person, their staging or the person per se.
Humans is a group exhibition in which the focus is on dealing with people in their complexity. On the one hand there are the results and insights of an analytical view of the human physique and psyche, the transillumination of the human body and its functions down to the deepest levels, on the other hand philosophical questions about dignity and existence or the search for identity, evolutionary origin and transcendence which underlie the different artistic positions. Political and psychological aspects of coexistence and communication are addressed as well as temporal processes or the confrontation with perception and reality, emotion and memory.
Thomas Riess (artist and curator of this exhibition) has met a selection of twelve artists from Austria, Italy, Switzerland and Iceland, whose works form a thematic cross section through the fields of painting, sculpture, graphics, photography, textile art, video and installation.

Curator: Thomas Riess
Artists:Tanja Boukal (A), Aron Demetz (I), Jón Thor Gíslason (IS/D), Urban Grünfelder (I), Richard Kaplenig (A), Brigitte Konyen (A), Marck (CH), Ina Loitzl (A), Birgit Pleschberger (A), Peter Raneburger (A), Thomas Riess (A), Shirin Winiger (CH)

Bolzano, Italy: May, 11th, 2013 – June, 1st, 2013
Klagenfurt, Austria: June, 7th, 2013 – August, 17th, 2013

Catalogue
Humans, 80 Pages, with 47 pictures, (german), 2013
ISBN 978-3-200-03055-8

Download
Pages from Catalogue Humans (PDF, German only, 354 kB)

Links
Künstlerhaus Klagenfurt
Galerie Prisma
Thomas Riess

Venues:

Galerie Prisma
Weggensteinstrasse 12
39100 Bolzano
Italy

Künstlerhaus Klagenfurt
Goetheparke 1
9020 Klagenfurt
Austria

Humans

Bozen (Italien) / Klagenfurt (Österreich) | 11. Mai - 17. August 2013

Die künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Menschen ist fast so alt wie die Menschheit selbst. Bis heute hat das Menschenbild und die Figur nichts an Faszination verloren. Die Beschäftigung mit diesem Thema ist daher für viele zeitgenössische Künstler essentiell, egal ob es sich nun um die eigene Person, deren Inszenierung oder den Menschen per se handelt.
Humans ist eine Gruppenausstellung, bei der die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Menschen in seiner Komplexität im Mittelpunkt steht. So sind es einerseits die Ergebnisse und Einsichten eines analytischen Blicks auf die menschliche Physis und Psyche, die Durchleuchtung des menschlichen Körpers und seiner Funktionen bis in tiefste Ebenen, andererseits auch philosophische Fragen zu Würde und Existenz oder die Suche nach Identität, evolutionärer Herkunft und Transzendenz, welche  den unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Positionen zugrunde liegen. Politische und psychologische Aspekte des Zusammenlebens und der Kommunikation werden ebenso angesprochen wie zeitliche Abläufe oder die Auseinandersetzung mit Wahrnehmung und Wirklichkeit, Emotion und Erinnerung.
Thomas Riess (Künstler und Kurator dieser Ausstellung) hat eine Auswahl von zwölf KünstlerInnen aus Österreich, Italien, der Schweiz und Island getroffen, deren Arbeiten einen themenbezogenen Querschnitt durch die Bereiche Malerei, Bildhauerei, Grafik, Fotografie, Textilkunst, Video und Installation bilden.

Curator: Thomas Riess
Artists:Tanja Boukal (A), Aron Demetz (I), Jón Thor Gíslason (IS/D), Urban Grünfelder (I), Richard Kaplenig (A), Brigitte Konyen (A), Marck (CH), Ina Loitzl (A), Birgit Pleschberger (A), Peter Raneburger (A), Thomas Riess (A), Shirin Winiger (CH)

Bolzano, Italy: May, 11th, 2013 – June, 1st, 2013
Klagenfurt, Austria: June, 7th, 2013 – August, 17th, 2013

Katalog
Humans, eine Gruppenausstellung im Künstlerhaus Klagenfurt, und Bolzano it., 80 Seiten, mit 47 Farbabbildungen,(deutsch), 2013
ISBN 978-3-200-03055-8

Download
Auszug aus Katalog Humans (PDF, 354 kB)

Links
Künstlerhaus Klagenfurt
Galerie Prisma
Thomas Riess

Veranstaltungsorte:

Galerie Prisma
Weggensteinstrasse 12
39100 Bozen
Italien

Künstlerhaus Klagenfurt
Goetheparke 1
9020 Klagenfurt
Österreich